Council Minutes








Unconfirmed MINUTES


Annual General Meeting of Electors

6.30pm, 03 December, 2018

Council Chambers, Civic Centre, Dundebar Road, Wanneroo




Unconfirmed Minutes of Annual General Meeting of Electors


held on Monday 03 December, 2018




Item  1              Attendances   1

Item  2              Apologies and Leave of Absence   2

Item  3              Reports   2

3.1                         Annual Report 2017/18  2

Item  4              General Business   2

4.1                         Mr Stephen Adam, 3 Moonraker Road, JINDALEE   2

4.2                         Mr Christopher Arthur Webb, 57 Lakelands Drive, GNANGARA   3

4.3                         Mr David Wake, 18 Starrs Road, QUINNS ROCKS   3

4.4                         Mr David Wake, 18 Starrs Road, QUINNS ROCKS   3

4.5                         Mr David Wake, 18 Starrs Road, QUINNS ROCKS   4

4.6                         Mr Martin Dickie, 12 Talybont Bend, BUTLER   4

Item  5              Closure   4




The Presiding Member, Mayor Roberts, declared the meeting open at 6:30pm and read the prayer.

Good evening Councillors, staff, ladies and gentlemen, we wish to acknowledge the traditional custodians of the land we are meeting on, the Whadjuk people.  We would like to pay respect to the Elders of the Nyoongar nation, past and present, who have walked and cared for the land and we acknowledge and respect their continuing culture and the contributions made to the life of this city and this region and I invite you to bow your head in prayer:


We ask for your blessing upon our City, our community and our Council.  Guide us in our decision making to act fairly, without fear or favour and with compassion, integrity and honesty.  May we show true leadership, be inclusive of all, and guide the City of Wanneroo to a prosperous future that all may share.  We ask this in your name.


Please refer to agenda for details of full reports and attachments.

Item  1       Attendances

TRACEY ROBERTS, JP                            Mayor




NATALIE SANGALLI                                   North Coast Ward

LINDA AITKEN, JP                                      North Coast Ward

SONET COETZEE                                      North Coast Ward

RUSSELL DRIVER                                     North Coast Ward

LEWIS FLOOD                                             North Coast Ward

FRANK CVITAN, JP                                    Central Ward

SAMANTHA FENN                                     Central Ward

PAUL MILES                                                Central Ward

DOT NEWTON, JP                                      Central Ward

BRETT TREBY                                             South Ward

DOMENIC ZAPPA                                       South Ward




DANIEL SIMMS                                           Chief Executive Officer

HARMINDER SINGH                                  Director, Assets

DEBBIE TERELINCK                                 Director, Community & Place

NOELENE JENNINGS                               Director, Corporate Strategy & Performance

MUSTAFA YILDIZ                                       Manager Governance and Legal

NICKY BARKER                                          Governance Specialist

DOUG BRETT-MATTHEWSON                A/Manager Council and Corporate Support

DAVID NICHOLSON                                   Operations Manager Business & Finance

PAS BRACONE                                           Manager Approval Services

EMILLE VAN HEYNINGEN                       Manager Strategic Land Use Planning & Environment

BIMSARA PATHIRATHNA                        Manager Transactional Finance

STEVE PATTEN                                          Manager Health & Compliance

ZELDA JANSEN                                          Performance & Reporting Analyst

SARAH HINGSTON                                    Minute Officer


PATRICK WARR                                         Grant Thornton

KELLIE TONICH                                          Office of the Auditor General


There were 12 members of the public and one member of the press in attendance.

Item  2       Apologies and Leave of Absence

DENIS HAYDEN                                         South Ward

HUGH NGUYEN                                          South Ward

Item  3       Reports

Declarations of Interest by Elected Members, including the nature and extent of the interest. Declaration of Interest forms to be completed and handed to the Chief Executive Officer.

3.1    Annual Report 2017/18

File Ref:                                              35023 – 18/513206

Responsible Officer:                           Director Corporate Strategy & Performance

Disclosure of Interest:                         Nil

Attachments:                                       2         


Moved Cr Treby, Seconded Cr Cvitan

The contents of the City of Wanneroo Annual Report 2017/18 and the Annual Audited Financial Report are presented to the electors of the City of Wanneroo.

Carried Unanimously

Item  4       General Business

4.1                       Mr Stephen Adam, 3 Moonraker Road, JINDALEE




4.2                       Mr Christopher Arthur Webb, 57 Lakelands Drive, GNANGARA

Mayor Roberts declared a financial interest in 4.2 due to being the Deputy President of Western Australian Local Government Association. 


Mayor Roberts left the meeting at 6:38pm.


Deputy Mayor Sangalli took the Chair as the Presiding Member.

Moved Mr Webb, Seconded Ms Ede.

My name is Chris Webb of Gnangara, and I would like to put forward a motion that the City of Wanneroo Council resolves that the City of Wanneroo make an annual payment in perpetuity to the West Australian Ratepayers and Residents Association Incorporated matching dollar for dollar amount as the subscription fees paid by the City of Wanneroo to the West Australian Local Government Association in the applicable year and the Council directs the CEO to immediately implement this resolution. Time to give the Community a say.


Mayor Roberts re-entered the meeting at 6:41pm and took the Chair as the Presiding Member.


4.3                       Mr David Wake, 18 Starrs Road, QUINNS ROCKS

Moved Mr Wake, Seconded Mr Dickie.

That the City in developing plans for future use of the Quinns Rocks Caravan Park site on Lot 211 Quinns Road, Mindarie, considers options for public use instead of commercial development – including picnic and play areas and additional car parking, all within the existing cleared footprint – ideas raised at recent consultative workshops with local residents.



4.4                       Mr David Wake, 18 Starrs Road, QUINNS ROCKS

Moved Mr Wake, Seconded Mr Dickie.

That the City reviews its plan for prescribed burning in 20 local bushland reserves given the potential ecological impact of burning and considers alternatives including effective weed management, community surveillance and rapid fire suppression.




4.5                       Mr David Wake, 18 Starrs Road, QUINNS ROCKS

Moved Mr Wake, Seconded Mr Dickie.

That the City reviews its investment policy to align its investments with its goal of action on climate change. Specifically, we call on the City to end investments supporting fossil fuel extraction and production that threatens climate stability and instead support investments enabling a more sustainable future such as energy efficiency and renewable energy.



4.6                       Mr Martin Dickie, 12 Talybont Bend, BUTLER

Moved Mr Dickie, Seconded Mr Wake.

That Council adopt measures to continue the approaches laid out in its Energy Action plan 2007-2012 and both report on and advocate for reductions in greenhouse gas emissions across both corporate and community areas.


Item  5       Closure

There being no further business, the Presiding Member closed the meeting at 6:56pm.